South Gloucestershire

South Gloucestershire is a unitary district in the ceremonial county of Gloucestershire in South West England. The district was created in 1996, when the county of Avon was abolished, by the merger of former area of the districts of Kingswood and Northavon. The district borders the City and County of Bristol, the Bath and North East Somerset unitary district and the shire counties of Gloucestershire and Wiltshire.

South Gloucestershire also existed from 1950 to 1983 the name of a roughly coterminous Parliamentary constituency, South Gloucestershire. Its MPs were in turn Tony Crosland, Frederick Corfield and John Cope.

Employers of South Gloucestershire

The main employers of South Gloucestershire include the Local Authority who employs 9,500 people, the Ministry of Defence Headquarters for Defense, Procurement and Naval Support Command with 7,000 employees.

Other key employers include Airbus which dominates the Filton-Patchway area of South Gloucestershire, AXA, Hewlett Packard, Rolls Royce and the Royal Mail. A notable business park is Aztec West, which is adjacent to the M5/A38 and M4/M5 interchanges.